Our History

It’s been more than 55 years since a small group of community bankers gathered to
create the Montana Independent Bankers. Much has changed since those days back
in the turbulent 1960s.

The MIB Association

What is our

history ?

It’s been more than 55 years since a small group of community bankers gathered to create the Montana Independent Bankers. Much has changed since those days back in the turbulent 1960s.

Spurred by a technological revolution, an ever-diversifying state economy and steady population growth, Montana’s banking industry is radically different – and far more robust – than it was just a generation ago. As a result, Montana in the 21st century is a far different place to live and work than it was when the MIB was founded.

Montana’s community bankers have been among the leaders in shaping our state’s present and future economy. By using innovative business strategies, we have helped bring growth and prosperity to our communities, while strengthening the financial health of our state’s community banks.


For example, in response to the growing use of ATMs, in the early 1980’s, the MIB created the CashCard Network. Today this network is the largest ATM operation in the state. But even more important, fees collected from this service are dedicated to strengthening our state’s community banks and the communities in which they operate.

Community Bankers of Montana, Inc., MIB’s for-profit subsidiary and the parent of the CashCard Network, has spawned a variety of similar successful ventures. All add value to members’ communities and make the association an integral force in Montana’s network of financial institutions.

But, while much has changed, much, too has stayed the same. Community banks continue to serve as the financial cornerstone of their communities, a powerful force for both growth and stability.

And MIB members continue to be guided by the mission and vision that brought the association’s founders together over 50 years ago

The MIB Association


A.R. Appelgren
Hib Hanson
Burt Maynard
Phill Sandquist
Kenneth Martin
Kamy Quarles
Tom Christnacht
Andrew West
Relationship-based Service

Community banks are relationship lenders that focus on the needs of local families, businesses and farmers. Because they know their customers and their customers know them, they are able to provide superior, personal customer service. When consumers call their local community bank, they’ll be reassured to know that they won’t be talking to someone halfway across the globe. Instead, they will be talking with their community banker who lives and works in the same community they do.

Full List of our Presidents


1967-1968  A.R. Appelgren   1991-1992  Dan Barz
1968-1969 Hib Hanson   1992-1993 Frank Stock
1969-1970 Burt Maynard   1993-1994 Lloyd Sohl
1970-1971 Phill Sandquist   1994-1995 Bruce Gerlach
1971-1972 Tom Hughes   1995-1996 Dan Jordahl
1972-1973 John Witte   1996-1997 Doug Morton
1973-1974 Jack King   1997-1998 R.J. Doornek
1974-1975 Charles Sweeney   1998-1999 Kenneth Walsh
1975-1976 Pat Kirby   1999-2000 John King
1976-1977 Hank Lilloyrd   2000-2001 Jay Harris
1977-1978 Theo Bartschi   2001-2002 Thomas Welch
1978-1979 Marvin Veis   2002-2003 Kirk Sandquist
1979-1980 Ken Mahle   2003-2004 Bill Partain
1980-1981 Dick Kjoss   2004-2005 Michael Richter
1981-1982 Earl Wright   2005-2006 Allan Aronson
1982-1983 Byron Kluth   2006-2007 Shawn Dutton
1983-1984 W.E. Schreiber   2007-2008 A.J. King
1984-1985 Gib Nichols   2008-2009 Peter Johnson
1985-1986 Art Wiedeman   2009-2010 Murry Moore
1986-1987 Art Wiedeman   2010-2011 Ron Rosenberg
1987-1988 Kent Brubaker   2011-2012 Brice Kluth
1988-1989 Ron Ahlers   2012-2013 Martin Olsson
1989-1990 Marty Olson   2013-2014 Kenneth Martin
1990-1991 Dick Maurer   2014-2015 Kenneth Martin
      2015-2017 Amy Quarles
2019-2021 Andrew West   2017-2019 Tom Christnacht